of the Empire of Pavlov

There are several types of legislation in Pavlov: the Basic Law, Imperial Edicts and Decrees, and Acts of the Senate.

Basic Law

The Basic Law is Pavlov's equivalent of a constitution. It outlines the roles and responsibilities of governmental institutions and cannot be amended except by the explicit consent of the Monarch.

Codex Alexandrus Magnus

The Codex Alexandrus Magnus is Pavlov's civil code. It is a compilation of the Codex Justinianus and the Ruskaja Pravda of Prince Jaroslav the wise.

Imperial Edicts and Decrees

Imperial Edicts and Decrees supersede other laws, and no law can contradict an Imperial Edict or Decree.

Imperial Edicts are laws that can only be enacted by the Monarch. They can grant an office, right, monopoly, title, or status to a person or to some entity such as a corporation, create government offices and ministries, and shall be generally used by the Monarch for executive governance.

Imperial Decrees are laws that can only be enacted by the Monarch. Imperial Decrees are executive orders and/or statutes that apply to the whole Empire.

Acts of Senate

An Act of Senate is a piece of Pavlovian legislation proposed by a Senator and voted upon by the Senate of Pavlov. An Act is considered passed if more than 50% of all Senators voted in favour. Lastly, the Monarch shall choose whether or not to grant Imperial Consent to the Act. The granting of Imperial Consent to an Act of Senate makes it law.


Treaties are documents signed between the Empire of Pavlov and other entities: organizations, nations, and micronations. On behalf of Pavlov, the Treaties are signed by the Emperor and both Consuls.